Iraq removes visa requirements for citizens of over 30 countries

Passengers wearing protective masks line up to check-in after the reopening of Baghdad International Airport, where flights halted due to the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) outbreak, in Baghdad, July 23, 2020. (Reuters)

SULAIMANI (ESTA) — The Iraqi government said on Monday it had removed requirements for citizens of more than 30 countries to obtain a visa before arriving in Iraq.

The Iraqi government said in a statement that the move was to “encourage investment & support job creation”.

The countries include permanent members of the U.N. Security Council, such as U.S., UK, France, Russia and China, as well as EU countries, according to the statement.

Citizens of Japan, South Korea, Canada, Australia, New Zealand and Switzerland were also included.

“Citizens of these countries will be able to pay to obtain a visa on arrival at Iraq’s airports and land and sea border crossings, but must comply with all Iraqi preventive health measures as decided by the Higher Committee for Health and National Safety,” the Iraqi government said.

“Other countries may be added to the list based on Iraq’s economic and other needs,” it added.

Previous Article

Iraqi and Kurdish officials mark 33rd anniversary of Halabja massacre

Next Article

KRG delegation to visit Baghdad Tuesday

Related Posts