Sadr’s bloc wins 65 seats in Iraq election – unofficial results

File – Ballot boxes are piled at a polling station in Kurdistan Region

SULAIMANI (ESTA) — Iraq’s Moqtada al-Sadr’s bloc, Sairoon, has won 65 seats in the Iraqi parliamentary election, according to unofficial results sent to Esta Media Network.

Unofficial data sent to Esta Media Network showed that Sairoon bloc had secured most of the seats of the Iraqi parliament in the general election, held on Sunday.

Sairoon bloc won 54 seats in 2018 parliamentary election.

Al-Fateh bloc led by Hadi al-Amiri has won 38 seats of the parliament and State of Law coalition headed by Nouri al-Maliki secured 20 seats, according to the unofficial results.

Azim Alliance led Khamis al-Khanjar has obtained 20 seats and Taqaddum headed by Mohammed al-Halbousi has secured 18 seats, the data showed.

Hikma Movement led by Ammar al-Hakim has won 12 seats and it is expecting three more seats.

The Imtidad Movement, led by activist Alaa al-Rikabi, has obtained nine seats of the parliament. The movement represents the 2019 anti-government protesters.

The Iraqi electoral commission is expected to announce the official results in the coming hours.


*Corrects name of  the head of State of Law coalition in fourth paragraph to Nouri al-Maliki, not Hadi al-Amiri

Previous Article

Crude jumps on global energy crunch

Next Article

Explosion kills four people in Afrin, says medical source

Related Posts